

Chair Aric Putnam 3215 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-6455 sen.aric.putnam@senate.mn

Vice Chair Robert J. Kupec

Ranking Minority Member Torrey N. Westrom

Members

Bruce D. Anderson Gary H. Dahms Gene Dornink Heather Gustafson Mary K. Kunesh Judy Seeberger

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator Hunter Pederson (651) 296-5712 hunter.pederson@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant Jacqueline Borromeo (651) 296-6455 jacqueline.borromeo@senate.mn

Caucus Research Amanda Pedersen (DFL) Andrew Larson (R)

Legislative Analyst Laura Paynter

Fiscal Analyst Erik Olson

Minnesota Senate Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee

Wednesday, March 1st, 2023 3:00 p.m. 1150 Minnesota Senate Building

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Minnesota Pork Producers Association's Pork Day at the Capitol
- John Anderson, President, Minnesota Pork Producers Association
- 3. Corporate Farm and Foreign Ownership Law Presentation by Minnesota Department of Agriculture
- Thom Petersen, Commissioner
- Doug Spanier, General Counsel
- 4. SF 1575 (Seeberger) Agricultural down payment assistance grants appropriation
- Naima Dhore, Douglas County Vegetable Farmer; Land Stewardship Project Land Access Committee Steering Member
- Laura Schreiber, Policy Organizer, Land Stewardship Project

5. SF 1879 (Putnam) Beginning farmer tax credit for the sale of an agricultural asset eligibility modification; credit administration appropriation and sunset of the credit repeal authorization

- Molly Byron, Byron Farms
- Kelsey Zavedra, Heirloomista
- Jane Windsperger, GEDEF Organic Farm
- Leif Aakre, Farmer; Board Member, AgCountry Farm Credit Services
- Grain Advisory Group Report Presentation by Minnesota Department of Agriculture
- Thom Petersen, Commissioner
- Nicholas Milanowski; Fruit, Grain & Vegetable Section Manager

- 7. SF 2218 (Kupec) Grain indemnity account establishment and appropriation
- Martin Phillips, Blue Skye Farms
- Chad Stannard
- Brian Herbst, Herbst Farms
- Jay Peterson, Sunrise Organic Farm
- Jim Falk, Falk Seed Farm
- Bob Worth, President, Minnesota Soybean Growers Association
- Thom Petersen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
- Laura Lemke, Executive Director, Minnesota Grain & Feed Association
- 8. Adjournment

Minnesota Senate Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee